New Jersey makes 14 10/18/13

The New Jersey state Supreme Court on Friday, in an unanimous decision, ruled that a lower court decision granting marriage equality in that state is valid.  Marriages between same-gender couples will begin on Monday, October 21.

New Jersey joins California, Washington, Connecticut, Delaware, Iowa, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, D.C., and eight counties in New Mexico in legalizing marriage equality in their jurisdictions.  The Human Rights Campaign has more on the ruling.

The nations of Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, parts of Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom also recognize marriage equality.

In some countries, primarily in the Middle East and Africa, being gay can result in execution by state or religious authorities.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s